Hub Council - The Aspire Academy Trust

Hub Council

Every Aspire academy is accountable to the Trust Board. A Hub council is perfectly positioned to facilitate this and to ensure the academies within it can realistically meet the requirements of the Trust.

Hub Councillors, in partnership with academies, communicate and work in conjunction with the Board to provide a vital link and additional level of accountability.

Hub council

Mid Hub Council

Clifford Murt Padstow Community Councillor
Bob Williams Padstow Community Councillor
Gemma Hooper  Staff Councillor
Yvonne Hughes  Staff Councillor 
Andrea Brion (Chair) Community Councillor 

St Austell Hub Council

Vacancy (Chair)  Community Councillor 
Emma Goudge  Community Councillor 
Adrian Coad  Community Councillor 
Christopher Hender  Community Councillor 
Guy Bawden  Parent Councillor 

North Hub Council

Sarah Roberts  St Minver Parent Councillor 
Helen Eustice  St Breock Community Councillor 
Lee Bateman  St Minver Community Councillor 
TBC Delabole/Tintagel Community Councillor

West Hub Council

Denys Lawry  (Chair) Community Councillor 
Diane Brown  Connor Downs Community Councillor 
Kevin Gallagher  Connor Downs Community Councillor 
Jenny Paramor St Uny Community Councillor
Janice Eddy Staff Councillor
Andrew Earnshaw Staff Councillor

Truro Hub Council

Judith Baylis (Acting Chair)  Community Councillor 
Jeremy Putman Community Councillor
Bex Bowen Community Councillor - Probus
Natalie Swann Parent Councillor - Mount Hawke
Richard Horswell Parent Councillor - Mount Hawke
Miles Carden Community Councillor - St Mawes
Alison Jobbins Community Councillor - St Mawes

East Hub Council

Steve Smith (Chair)  Parent Councillor 
Annie Stuart Community Councillor - Biscovey Junior
Dawn Lambert Community Councillor - Bugle 
Damian Knight Parent Councillor - Bugle 
Rachel Smith Community Councillor - Biscovey Infants 
Michele Mullin Community Councillor - Biscovey Infants


Core Role of a Hub Councillor

  • Focus on consistently improving outcomes for all pupils but especially for disadvantaged pupils. 
  • Provide challenge and support to leaders at all levels in the Hub
  • Monitor the performance and progress of the academies in the Hub, agreeing strategies to achieve continuous improvement and monitoring the Hub Improvement Plan  
  • Strategic oversight of the curriculum
  • Take all aspects of safeguarding and well -being seriously and appoint a designated Safeguarding Council member
  • Conduct an annual self- evaluation of the impact and effectiveness of the Hub Councils and academies improvement activities
  • Promote Trust vision, policies and priorities

Intended Impact of a Hub Councillor

  • Councillors are confident in their evaluations and understanding, and do not shy away from challenging leaders about variations in outcomes for pupil groups, especially between disadvantaged and other pupils 
  • Councillors monitor the effectiveness of the actions leaders take to secure and sustain improvements to teaching, learning and assessment and effectively hold them to account for this.  This is communicated effectively to the Board and the Hub Director through the minutes of the Hub Council meetings 
  • To carry out Safeguarding duties as detailed in the monitoring programme