Who are we


  • safeguard and promote the values of the Trust, acting as 'ambassadors' for the Trust 
  • ensure the Trust acts within its Objectives as set out in the Articles of Association 
  • hold the Board to account 
  • appoint and (where necessary) remove Trustees  
  • receive reports and financial statements 


  • set strategic vision, oversight and policies 
  • effective governance and decision making 
  • set targets for the Chief Executive Officer 
  • oversight of standards and educational outcomes 
  • review academy performance and budgets

Hub Council

Every Aspire academy is accountable to the Trust Board.  A Hub council is perfectly positioned to facilitate this and to ensure the academies within it can realistically meet the requirements of the Trust.

Hub Councillors, in partnership with academies, communicate and work in conjunction with the Board to provide a vital link and additional level of accountability.

Core Role

  • Focus on consistently improving outcomes for all pupils but especially for disadvantaged pupils. 
  • Provide challenge and support to leaders at all levels in the Hub
  • Monitor the performance and progress of the academies in the Hub, agreeing strategies to achieve continuous improvement and monitoring the Hub Improvement Plan  
  • Strategic oversight of the curriculum
  • Take all aspects of safeguarding and well -being seriously and appoint a designated Safeguarding Council member
  • Conduct an annual self- evaluation of the impact and effectiveness of the Hub Councils and academies improvement activities
  • Promote Trust vision, policies and priorities

Intended Impact

  • Councillors are confident in their evaluations and understanding, and do not shy away from challenging leaders about variations in outcomes for pupil groups, especially between disadvantaged and other pupils 
  • Councillors monitor the effectiveness of the actions leaders take to secure and sustain improvements to teaching, learning and assessment and effectively hold them to account for this.  This is communicated effectively to the Board and the Hub Director through the minutes of the Hub Council meetings 
  • To carry out Safeguarding duties as detailed in the monitoring programme

Members of the Governance Body

Members Position
Mr Christopher Hender  Founder Member 
Mrs Sandra Hodge  Founder Member 
Mr Paul Roberts  Chair of Mid Hub Council 
Mr Keith Dormer Previous Chair Whitemoor Academy
Askel Vuer

The Diocese of Truro’s Academies Umbrella Company

Trustees Position
Mr Andrew Fielder Chief Executive Officer and Ex-Officio Trustee
Mrs Jaqueline Swain Trustee and Chair of Trust Board
Mr Michael Larsen Trustee and Chair of Finance and Audit Committee
Mrs Penny Shilston Trustee and Dioscese Representative
Mrs Mel Colton-Dyer Trustee
Mr Ben Couch Trustee
Mrs Anna Corbett Trustee, Dioscese Representative and Chair of the Truro Hub Council
Mr Graham Renwick Trustee and Chair of North Hub Council


Mid Hub Council

Paul Roberts (Chair)  Community Councillor 
Gemma Hooper  Staff Councillor 
Yvonne Hughes  Staff Councillor 
Andrea Brion  Community Councillor 


St Austell Hub Council

Louise Burt (Chair)  Community Councillor 
Emma Goudge  Community Councillor 
Adrian Coad  Community Councillor 
Christopher Hender  Community Councillor 
Guy Bawden  Parent Councillor 


North Hub Council

Graham Renwick (Chair)  St Breock Community Councillor 
Clifford Murt  Padstow Community Councillor 
Sarah Roberts  Padstow Parent Councillor 
Helen Eustice  St Breock Community Councillor 
Lee Bateman  St Minver Community Councillor 
Bob Williams St Minver Community Councillor


West Hub Council

Denys Lawry  (Chair) Community Councillor 
Diane Brown  Connor Downs Community Councillor 
Kevin Gallagher  Connor Downs Community Councillor 
Jenny Paramor St Uny Community Councillor


Truro Hub Council

Judith Baylis (Acting Chair)  Community Councillor 
Jeremy Putman Community Councillor
David Davies Community Councillor - Probus
Bex Bowen Community Councillor - Probus
Natalie Swann Parent Councillor - Mount Hawke
Richard Horswell Parent Councillor - Mount Hawke
Miles Carden Community Councillor - St Mawes
Alison Jobbins Community Councillor - St Mawes


East Hub Council

Steve Smith (Chair)  Parent Councillor 
Annie Stuart Community Councillor - Biscovey Junior
Dawn Lambert Community Councillor - Bugle 
Damian Knight Parent Councillor - Bugle 
Rachel Smith Community Councillor - Biscovey Infants 
Michele Mullin Community Councillor - Biscovey Infants


Company Secretary

Lorna Rabey